Game Design – Week 14 – Intro to Analysis

“Judy Garland, Hedy Lamarr and Lana Turner” by classic film scans is licensed under CC BY 2.0

“Analysis gave me great freedom of emotions and fantastic confidence. I felt I had served my time as a puppet.”

Hedy Lamarr

SUMMARY

  • I played and reviewed a game, analyzing what about it makes it fun to deepen my knowledge of how to design fun games.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY, PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

Image from bananatreelog.com
  • Overall, what the guide is saying is be organized an learn how to chill when necessary. All of the stuff about limiting how much, and when you do certain things comes down to having an organized life, and all of the dealing with stress stuff are suggestions on ways to chill and not worry. I think overcomplicating stuff like this is counterproductive.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I learned how to analyze different aspects of a game to further understand what makes a game fun or not fun. This consisted of picking apart real examples of how certain games do this (or a certain game). I didn’t run into any problems, apart from this weeks post taking a super long time when you said it would be chill.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *