Game Design – Week 11 – Updating Workflow – Mind Like Water

“‘Be shapeless and formless.. like water’ (Bruce Lee)” by Akinini.com is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

“Have a mind like water.”

― David Allen,  GTD

SUMMARY

  • Write your weekly summary here, last, at the end of the week…
    • Only one to two sentences of WHAT YOU DID
  • DELETE ALL OF MR. LE DUC’s INSTRUCTIONS, AFTER YOU ARE DONE
  • I expanded my knowledge of coding
  • I learned about how different activities affect chemicals in the brain
  • I made a very basic game in construct 3

Construct 3 / PlayCanvas – Javascript

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Screenshot from Construct.net

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

Screenshot from editor.construct.net

OUTSIDE (PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

Image from bananatreelog.com
  • Making checklists and having an overall structured day seems to be a generally good idea. Checklists themselves help with dopamine, as well as help manage things you would usually spend too much time worrying about. Exercise, and being healthy in general help tremendously in being able to be happy consistently.

STUDIO (CREATIVITY)

Screenshot from Construct Begginer’s Guide
  • I made a game mostly following the guide, where the player tries to shoot all of the monsters before they get him.
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is c3-game-1.png
while alive
after alive

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I learned how to use construct 3 in a very basic way, adding sprites and a background, as well as making actions. A problem that I solved was making a way for the player to die, and adding a death effect, which wasn’t in the tutorial.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *