Game Design – Week 8 – Logic, Flowcharts, and Coding

Code washing

When asked the most important thing I should teach my students, the MIT student I was interviewing simply stated , ‘ teach them logic.’ – Mr. Le Duc

SUMMARY

  • I extended my knowledge of coding and game development. I also learned how to create simple flowcharts and deal with the challenges of creativity

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

Unity

Screenshot from Sololearn.com

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image from https://monkeyblogmonkeydo.com/2010/07/19/so-duh-pop-quiz-classic-video-game-flowchart-edition/
  • Screenshot from TodaysTuts’ YouTube Channel
  • The flowchart library contains all of the symbols in a flowchart
  • The oval represents the start of a chart
  • The terminator represents the end of the chart
  • The square with rounded corners represent a process or action
  • Make sure the chart flows from top to bottom or left to right
  • The diamond represents a choice or decision. Yes paths usually should go down, while no paths should go to the right
  • The document symbol represents a document that is created or a report that’s generated
  • Clicking on text or arrows brings up a menu on the right to edit their properties

Mr. Le Duc’s Flowchart Shape Guide

More Flowchart Creation Resources

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

STUDIO (GAME DESIGN)

Unity

Screenshot from Unity.com

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I learned how to develop an abstract idea into an outline for a game, and how to do so in a way that best sets up the game to be fun and engaging. I also learned how to deal with the pressures of doing a task that requires creativity, and how to manage that creativity in a useful way. I didn’t run into any problems doing this, because it was all straightforward and clear

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *